Irina Gabiani at: LETTERS FROM THE SKY, National Arts Festival 2012, Grahamstown, South Africa

Artists’ Films on Climate Change at the National Arts Festival 2012  
(from the official programme guide)
The experimental film programme LETTERS FROM THE SKY took to the screens in three cities as part of the COPART cultural action in November 2011.  Curated by Cape Town based Kai Lossgott, it showcases a series of film messages from artists and filmmakers from all over the world.  The artists were briefed to present personal responses to the effects of climate change on their communities, families and lives.
“The collective statement of these artists persuades us to cherish the world we live in, not only for ourselves – the seven billion – but also for generations yet to be born.  In an art world often ruled by and motivated by money, every video artist whose effort is featured here stands up to be counted as a global citizen.”  – Competition judge Jan Kather (curator, artist and educator, Elmira College & Cornell University, NY, USA).
Monday 2 July, 10:00, 12:00 & 14:00
Duration: 70 mins

Judge’s Choice Edition, 18 films, 1 hour 6 mins.
In screening order:
Treebute to Yogya.  2009.  Sara Nuytemans / Arya Pandjalu.  01:00.  (The Hague / Yogyakarta, Indonesia).
Air.  2011.  Dunet Chan.  4:00.  (Hong Kong).
Dead Air.  2011.  Louise Coetzer / Oscar O’Ryan.  04:15.  (Cape Town).
A Darker Shade of Grey.  2011.  Margreet Gouws / Graham Wickham / Salphy Ramohale.  03:26.  (Johannesburg).
Cooling Reactors.  2011.  Sojin Chun / Alexandra Gelis. 02:24.  (Toronto).
My Beach.  2011.  Leila Anderson / Clara Tilve.  03:34.  (Cape Town).
Take off your Veil.  2011.  Irina Gabiani.  04:00.  (Luxembourg).
Man Belongs to Earth.  2008.  Anna Barańska / Michal Barański.  03:00.  (Lublin, Poland).
Custom.  2011.  Terry Westby-Nunn.  03:04.  (Cape Town).
The Art-Qaeda Project.  2010.  Wei-Ming Ho.  04:00.  (Taipei, Taiwan).
Consomania.  2008.  Samba Fall.  04:00.  (Dakar / Oslo).
A little wind.  2011.  Xolani Ndhlovu / Jacqui-lee Katz / Melanie Hoenselaar / Tinashe Kamwendo.  02:24.  (Johannesburg).
Nor any drop to drink.  2011.  Kyle O’Donoghue.  02:31.  (Cape Town).
Rain.  2008.  Simone Stoll.  01:30.  (Frankfurt).
The Highest Pinnacle of Knowledge.  2010.  Joas Sebastian Nebe.  04:00. (Hamburg & Berlin).
Future North.  2008.  Jane D Marsching / Mitchell Joachim / Terreform.  03:15.  (Boston).
The Bear.  2011.  Anja Hitzenberger.  04:00.  (New York).
Love The Waters.  2011.  Claire Beynon.  04:20.  (Dunedin, New Zealand).
Struggle for Existence.  2010.  Laurie Sumiye.  04:00. (London / Hawaii).

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s